black friday, cyber monday, thanksgiving

StSA–Black Friday

It’s Thanksgiving tomorrow. Which means that, after an afternoon of stuffing themselves, the general American public will be putting on hats, coats, and their wallet-protectors, and head out into the bitter cold to find the best deals and the worst traffic this side of New Year’s Eve.

And I’m making this post today, because I’m gonna be one of those idiots on Friday, so there will be no post. Sorry for the inconvenience. And it’ll be short, because we’re going out to go shop for Thanksgiving right now (the blatant consumerism has already begun).

But see, I’m torn on Black Friday. Because on the one hand, it’s a glorious exploration of capitalism, the market behaving at its peak. And on the other hand, people trample each other and die and punch them and all sort of nasty things.

So it’s super dangerous. But the deals…

You see my problem? So my mum, my sister, and I (yay, I’m back home for the holiday!) are gonna go brave the crowds and try to pick up certain necessities of life. Aka bras and boots. Because those are entirely too expensive regularly.

But why, then, do we have Black Friday? Why is this even a thing? And why must we drag it out to Cyber Monday?

See, that sounds like my grandma. But knowing that she’s a few plums short, I had to honestly think about why these holidays exist. And then it came to me.

Because people will do anything at all for a deal. In life, in politics, in history, and in blatant consumerism. Black Friday allows for us to buy what we need without breaking the bank (though a few arms may get broken in the process. As my maternal great-grandmother always said: suffer for vanity).

And honestly? I think that’s something to scream about. And I hope you do, too.

Happy Thanksgiving, Merry Black Friday, Merry Cyber Monday. And a truly happy holiday season to you all.

Standard

Leave a comment